top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJohn Thiel

The Puck Budget Promise

Updated: Sep 5, 2019

I wanted my first blog to represent the core foundation of Puck Budget; and that is to build successful hockey families. As a former hockey player, I have lived through the ups, and downs of our Canadian pastime. I created this business because I saw a need that wasn’t being filled in the marketplace; total family development.



The privatization and specialization of the hockey services industry has caused a drastic increase in the costs associated with minor hockey development. Most service providers are specialized; for instance, hockey schools, personal trainers, the list goes on. I wanted to take a different approach to hockey services; I wanted to work alongside the entire hockey family to ensure they were investing their hard earned money in the right places.


The cost of living in the Waterloo region makes it difficult for most families to get ahead; when you compound that with the growing costs of hockey, you have a problem. Hockey parents are the best out there, I truly believe that. The early morning practices, the costs of equipment, the travel and the overall commitment to the game can be daunting; yet, hockey parents do it. That was the premise behind Puck Budget; to give parents a source for transparent information that was in the best interests of their child, and their family. The concept it different, but it’s something every hockey family should consider.


The “Puck Budget Promise” is a commitment to the entire hockey family; it’s a desire to help families succeed, whatever their hockey goals are. It’s a commitment to every player, and hockey family, that wants to get better, not just the elite players. It’s a promise that we will do everything in our power to give your child the best chance at success, without emptying your bank account in the process. Development is about attitude, effective planning and effort; three things every hockey family can control. We ensure your child has a plan; one that is going to provide structure, yet isn’t going to cause emotional burnout.


I got cut from my first AAA team, it wasn’t fun. I didn’t have the skills that the other kids had (I had a late start by Canadian hockey standards, I was seven), but I had a father who played the game and knew what it was going to take for me to get better. I worked diligently to have a skill that no one had for the next year’s tryout; so I shot pucks all day, every day, in my spare time. When tryouts came around the next season, they couldn’t cut me; I had the best shot out there. My shot was very good for my age, but my skating wasn’t. So what did we do, we allocated our family’s available Puck Budget to improving my skating. From that point on, every year we had a plan; and by the time I hit 14, I was playing Major Bantam AAA as a minor, and led the team in scoring. Our plan worked out very well, as I had developed to the point where I played my first game with the Waterloo Siskins at 14 years old.


The moral of my minor hockey story is this: I wasn’t the best player from start to finish, but we had a plan every year. Having that consistency and work ethic, from my entire family, enabled me to be a successful junior player and obtain an NCAA scholarship. The secret to my success had nothing to do with money, my family wasn’t rich; It was the commitment to following a plan. I always say I lived the Waterloo Minor Hockey dream; I grew up in the system, got drafted to the OHL, was the captain of my hometown junior team, and was able to play at the next level. The Puck Budget Promise is to help as many kids live the same minor hockey dream I did.


I look forward to working with families in the Waterloo Region to help young boys and girls get better. All it takes is attitude, effort and a plan, we can do it together.


Sincerely,

John Thiel


30 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page